Imagine a World Where…

Posted on May 13, 2012, in Humanism, Religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. 🙂 That is quite humorous. However, it’s not entirely true. Some theists like myself take time off to enjoy life. In as much as we’re “waiting for the next one”, we’re enjoying this one too. And we’re enjoying it our way.

    And the same way you take time out to attend conventions/meetings on the subject of atheism, we attend our conventions and meetings…every Sunday/Friday/whenever, at church/mosque/temple or wherever. We have a belief system that you don’t agree with but that doesn’t change the fact that we’re all human beings in the end and need to respect each other on that front.

    Now I know you to believe in reason/logic, so I will apply to that part of your brain. Don’t you think it is a little hypocritical to ridicule people of faith for ridiculing people who oppose theism, then go ahead to ridicule them for being pro-theism and believing in an after-life? The same way atheism/anti-theism is your truth, is the way Theism is ours.

    I know this is your blog and you are free to publish whatever you want on it, but I’ll dare to humbly suggest, in good “faith”, that you try not to make fun of those who don’t believe what you believe.

    Otherwise, I did laugh and I did not take it personally.

    • “Don’t you think it is a little hypocritical to ridicule people of faith for ridiculing people who oppose theism, then go ahead to ridicule them for being pro-theism and believing in an after-life?”

      When did I do the former? Maybe I did. In any case, I am demonstrating that there’s NOTHING WRONG with ridicule. There’s nothing wrong with drawing pictures of Muhammed. There’s nothing wrong with cartooning atheism, Hinduism, Christianity, Islam, etc. etc. Especially in a world where religion asserts itself as sacred truth, ridicule is an essential weapon in the marketplace of free ideas, and a necessary instrument in the demonstration that blasphemy is a nonsensical concept. Satire and cartoons have been effective in history and in many important social movements.

      “The same way atheism/anti-theism is your truth, is the way Theism is ours.”

      I’m not interested in this kind of relativism. It’s not just a matter of opinion. Religion makes enormous claims for itself, and unless sufficient reasons are provided for believing in it, we will continue to oppose it.

      “I’ll dare to humbly suggest, in good “faith”, that you try not to make fun of those who don’t believe what you believe.”

      I unapologetically oppose this atmosphere of people always always telling atheists to “tone it down”. It is never the other way around. Almost never do non-atheists tell atheists “speak up more loudly” and to participate more intensely in public discourse. It’s always “why are you so confrontational, why are you atheists so angry, etc.” It’s always as if there’s something wrong with atheists, and not something terribly wrong with the claims of religion.

      I highly suggest you watch the video on this post, preferably the whole thing, but 40:32 is what is relevant here.

      https://inspirationalfreethought.wordpress.com/tag/why-are-atheists-so-angry/

      • Hey! Thanks for responding.

        I don’t think ridicule is okay, but then again, that’s just my opinion and I am sincerely hoping we can learn from each other. I ascribe to moderation. Everything in moderation, I believe and I am also of the view that our points can be made without hurting anyone. Don’t get me wrong, I am not Ssshhh-ing you. I am just saying you can be a good example to the Theists by not doing what you criticise them for doing.

        You and I agree on a number of issues when it comes to religion and I do not want to get into any arguments concerning the evidence of God’s existence etc etc. That said, even though you’re not interested in relativism concerning truth, you have to deal with it because it is there. We cannot be perfectly sure that God exists and we can’t be certain He doesn’t. The fact of the matter is that we have differing views and opinions. A married couple may agree to disagree on what the best movie in 2011 is, and that’s the same way you and NEED to agree to disagree on our opinions of what truth is.

        You can call me out if you see me doing something wrong [case in point Catholic priests molesting little boys and the church’s role in covering it up], but you absolutely cannot shove atheism down my throat simply because you believe it is your truth. From my point of view, it’s like the “Believe in God or go to hell” statement.

        My point is that your message can be better heard without hurting anyone’s feelings [and again, that’s just an opinion I am entitled to 🙂 ]. Also, at some point, you have to take the “fundamentalist” atheist stick out of [wherever it is hidden] so you can see that for progress to be made, there has to be compromise and in this case, agreeing to disagree. Call the church out on all the mistakes it’s making, heck, it’s good for us but please don’t expect us to believe that God doesn’t exist.

        Christians have made “claims” and presented evidence/proof, and of course you probably don’t agree with it because we wouldn’t be having this conversation. However, there are arguments atheists make that christians don’t believe [I really don’t want to get into these arguments because frankly, I’m exhausted] as well. See how “agreeing to disagree” comes in?

        Finally, in no way am I asking you to “tone it down”. Eish, please and if you can, speak up, speak louder, yell over a megaphone if you must! I’m simply suggesting you re-think your strategy or repackage this particular post’s message. Cynicism doesn’t look good on anyone, and it attracts fewer people.

        Aside from that, I do enjoy reading your blog and I think you’re an awesome writer!

        PS: Thanks for the video. I watched it and totally agreed with some of the points she made and disagreed about others. There are issues of perspective in a few of her arguments. But that’s for another time.

Leave a Reply

