Why Reason Rally Was A Success and An Inspiration

The Reason Rally at the National Mall in Washington, D.C. was an amazing, unforgettable, life-changing experience.

The Thinking Atheist made a video recap of his experience at Reason Rally. It’s a captivating overview of the emotions, the sights, the congenial atmosphere, and overwhelming awesomeness of the whole thing.

Everywhere I went I had this awareness that I was amongst friends. And if you’ll forgive the cliche, I felt that I was home.

For me, I was inspired by the words of Nate Phelps, the son of Westboro Baptist Church’s Fred Phelps, who talked about the sadness that he felt watching his family protest, and how it reminded him of the incredible amount of human potential that is wasted on religious dogma.

I was also inspired by people on Twitter and the support we received around the world. A tweet from Iran was made in solidarity with American atheists and in the hope that one day, there will be Reason Rallies in Tehran too.

I was inspired by everyday people who showed up. Students who flew from Wyoming. My fellow Chicagoans who drove ten hours to get to Washington. The family in D.C. who welcomed me personally to the city. My fellow interns from Foundation Beyond Belief. All the students. The surprising number of seniors I saw. The families. High school teenagers (like Jessica Ahlquist). It was an incredibly diverse crowd of everyday people, of all colors and backgrounds, from all corners of the country, wanting to take a stand for Reason.

Just look. Look at the picture above again. Stare at it, and think about each person’s life, each person’s journey of skepticism, doubt, and *maybe* religious upbringing. Think about why they came, why they thought they wanted to be part of something much much greater than themselves.

I was inspired by the passion, the dedication, the love and compassion that atheists showed for each other and the greater humanity that we care so much about.

Posted on March 29, 2012, in Humanism, Politics, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

