Churches, Architecture, Germany

Few of you may know that I absolutely love church architecture. Here are some pictures I’ve taken in Germany. They range from the mundane to the stunning.

First up is Mainz, a small suburb town on the Rhine near Frankfurt. They have a central cathedral, but it was closed when I got there. I did get a look into the courtyard.

Mainz, Germany

The courtyard.

Next up are some picturesque views along the Romantic Rhine. Small towns, castles, and grapevines line one of the most beautiful rivers in the world.

These are just some of the churches I encountered…

I see a castle too!

I also encountered the wonderful Romerberg, Frankfurt’s old town square. There’s a small church right next to it, and the main Cathedral is less than a minute away.

The Romerberg

A peak inside the small church.

I then walked to the main cathedral.

I saved the best for last, of course. Berlin has a beautiful Protestant cathedral right on Museum Island, home to a collection of arguably the best museums in the world.

Forgive the quality of these pictures. I forgot my camera that day and had to settle for a compact one. But the interior is no less intimidating.

Lastly, I have the king of them all, the mother of all cathedrals. I’m talking, of course, about the Cologne Cathedral, one of the tallest in Europe. It took over 600 years to build, and it was the tallest structure in the world from 1880 to 1884.

As you can see, it dwarfs not just the human body, but the human imagination.

I hope you’ve been inspired. See you all soon. Auf wiedersehen.

Posted on August 20, 2011, in History, Humanism, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

