What is your goal for the relationship between humanity and religion in the future?

First of all, I want to state what my goals definitely are not.

I don’t want to stop you from enjoying a transcendent experience at church or synagogue on the weekends. I don’t want the world to stop reading religious texts or to extinguish every last trace of the Bible or Koran from material existence (What other kind of existence is there anyways?).

3541

(How atheists really want to spread their views. Not.)

I don’t even necessarily want people to stop identifying as Christians or Muslims or whatever, even though much can be said about what identities we should hold primary, and whether those considerations put primacy on individual choice, or whether society has a role in directing people’s energies towards a more harmonious, tolerant whole.

And there are many different reasons why my goals wouldn’t matter to you even if you are religious. If you think of religion in a vague, academic sense as Durkheim did (in the categorization of the sacred and the profane), then pretty much anything is religion, and you’ll still have it. If you think of God as something that goes beyond theism in the Paul Tillich sense (God Above God, faith as ultimate concern), then your religious beliefs are solid (I think) even if all my goals become reality.

And yes, I understand that for many traditional theists, my demands are outrageous, even offensive. So here it goes.

1) All religions have to lose their supernatural claims.

This means a full embrace of science. If you think Jesus literally rose from the dead, that’s not going to cut it. If you think maybe, just maybe there was a real Garden of Eden, that’s probably not going to pass either. You can’t believe that prayer actually does something. (I’m not against people praying though, oddly.) The reason is that we’re tired of humanity having to spend energy to fight claims that seem really trivial at first, but somehow cause parents to watch their children die in front of them, make people think that creationism is actually worth teaching in the schools, or take the existence of heaven and hell way too seriously. Removing actual supernaturalism from religion makes adherents more likely to not descend into a state of extreme denial of reality.

2) Religion has to give way to secular ethics.

I’m willing to compromise on this, but not by much. You can use religion to explain why you feel passionately about a moral issue, and why this religious motivation inspires you to be an activist. But humanity shouldn’t take religious arguments for why something is right or wrong seriously. We should stop fooling ourselves into thinking that debates over whether homosexuality or slavery is right or wrong belong in the sphere of people arguing about the proper exegesis of the Bible. We have much better ways to settle issues like that. It’s called the body of secular ethics (notably utilitarianism) in modern philosophy.

3) Religion has to give way to secular politics.

It’s similar to ethics. But no quote I’ve found has been as good as this one:

obama-500

4) We should promote general religion over specific religion.

I think there’s a a need and a good that specific religions provide. Just as pro-lifers say they want to promote a “culture of life”, I think there’s a case to be made that promotion of civil religion, the kind that emphasizes common values and universal humanistic truths, is important. How I want this civil religion to play out I have not fully decided, but I don’t see why it can’t take many forms to promote the spiritual and psychological health people in general. One need not have the fantastical visions of Alain de Botton to find a practical way to keep the good parts of religion or to recognize that there’s something valuable in promoting those good parts in a reasonable, *socialized* manner.

Example

I believe there was once a commenter on this blog who asked that if I wasn’t content with Christians holding the position that “homosexuality is a sin and therefore gay people must be celibate,” what he could possibly do without leaving Christianity. My answer was that Christianity needed to change, drastically, just as it had done so in the past with all the schisms and scandals in the Church. I also noted that there are many LGBTQ-affirming Christians out there, and that it wasn’t a practical impossibility to change one’s position.

Of course, I pretty much got yelled at online for suggesting that Christians fundamentally change the Word of God, or at least the orthodox interpretation of such revelations.

Unfortunately, that’s kind of my demand. And if you’re not happy with it, then I’m afraid you’re not going to enjoy the work that this secular movement is going to do to fundamentally change the culture and ethos of this country.

Posted on May 5, 2013, in Humanism, Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I just ran across this. It’s right on. I’m not much of a joiner, myself, but I would have no problem with any religion that could be rational in its beliefs and practices. I suppose some liberal churches approach that goal, but it seems the fundie ones are more popular.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

